Skip to content

February 13, 2010

Sat, 13 Feb 2010

We went to the ‘Barn Market’ in Bellerive today.  It is the first one.  We got there as it was starting and there were people everywhere.  There was a lot of arts and crafts stuff there, a BBQ and a few different buskers (one group playing rock songs, one violin group and one solo guitar player).Courtney seemed to like it a lot, being crafty herself, and I bought her a quirky bookmark.  It’s very cute.

Yesterday we had a visit from Janelle and Chloe.  Chloe is getting very big and grown up now.  She is walking quite well too.  We didn’t do anything in particular, just hung out.

Our diet is going well.  It’s weigh-in day tomorrow.  Two weeks down.  I turned down a Bunnings sausage sizzle this morning while going to get a dead bolt for Wendy.  A big achievement.  Last week I lost 2.4 kg.  I’m hoping to lose another 1.5kg or more.  It is good to get some reward from being so good.  We are not exercising at all, just using the weight watcher’s diet system.  Courtney went to the meetings last time we went on a diet and got the books from there.  We now just count our points and be sensible.  If we have a bad day, we don’t give up.  There is always tomorrow to make it up with.

We are planning a trip to see my sisters, my brother, nieces and nephew in Port Stephens, NSW.  I haven’t asked them if they are free but I think we will go anyway.  They can’t be working 24 hours a day.  We are planning to go on my 5 day break in March.  Have to find a hotel, car hire and flights and money for them all but we are definitely needing to get away.

We haven’t done much in the garden lately.  I gave them some Seasol and Powerfeed yesterday and that’s about it.  Things seem to be growing pretty well at the moment.  The basil seedlings that we got from the Farmer’s Market a three weeks ago is finally doing something.  We also got some celeriac but that doesn’t seem to be growing very well.  I have a feeling it is the wrong season for it.  Two weeks ago we got some broccoli and bright purple cauliflower seedlings too.  They seem to have grown a lot more in tha last week too.  I have had a lot of problems with the cabbage butterfly.  It lays it’s eggs on the underside of broccoli and cauliflower (and cabbage too of course but we don’t grow that) and the baby caterpillars eat the leaves back to the tips.  They weren’t thriving so I gave in and got some spray, I think it is classed as a pesticide but it does the job.  I have new green leaves growing and they don’t have any holes in them yet.

I picked up some free ridge-capping to finish off the chicken coop.  I got it from a local lady on Freecycle.  She got it for free, used what she needed and gave it to me.  I plan to do the same thing and give the rest to someone who needs it.  It’s nice to get something for free and be able to help someone else too.

We have been watching The Gourmet Farmer on SBS lately.  A food critic for a Sydney newspaper moves to Tasmania (to a small town called Cygnet, down south from us) and starts to try to live self-sufficiently.  It is a very good show and he seems to be doing a good job at it too.  It got me interested in other similar shows too.  I found Jimmy’s Farm, a show from the UK where a PHD student starts a rare breed free range piggery, and River Cottage, another UK show which is a little more ‘out there’ in the way he goes about self-sufficiently, eating pigeon, eel and roadkill while trying to grow his own food.  Makes me want to buy a pair of pigs to turn into the best sausages, streaky bacon, prosciutto, ham, roasts and chops.  You get so much meat off each pig.  Have to keep that as a ‘future dream’ for a while though I guess.

Anyway.  That’s enough for today.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

